Posted by: kfugrip | May 2, 2007

Redux

Claire Dolan, by Lodge Kerrigan is the 58th film I’ve seen this year, but it’s one I’ve seen before. I saw this movie in 2000 probably. I don’t remember why I rented it. I suspect that it was written about in Film Comment magazine. It’s about a call girl (Katrin Cartlidge) who tries to quit and have a normal life with a man (Vincent D’Onofrio) and have a child. Her creditor/pimp (Colm Meany) will not allow it until her debt is payed off. It’s on this thin conceit that a powerful exercise in cinematic design and subtlety.

The film begins with pictures of building photographed in such a way as they appear as two dimensional patterns. The images are cold and the perfect set up for the story to come. Everything about this film is about restraint. The performances, the camera, the events that Kerrigan chose to depict, all of them are understated and stripped down to the essential information.

Katrin Cartlidge is excellent as Claire. She convey’s much of the story’s emotion with few of the tools normally afforded an actor. She will be missed.

This film contains one of the most powerful scenes I’ve ever seen. I won’t spoil it but you’ll know it when you see it.

4 stars, though I remembered it as being okay but not as engaging as it was when I saw it again last week.

clairedolan.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

