Posted by: kfugrip | May 29, 2007

First Moral Tale

The Bakery Girl of Monceau, by Eric Rohmer is the first of the Six Moral Tales cycle and a quaint story of a man’s (semi)pursuit of a woman. It is filled with images of people sitting in cafes, walking the Paris streets, and eating in bakeries. An excellent start to a career filled with films that veer into the realm of the literary, Rohmer is an interesting film maker and I look forward to the 5 other tales.

This is a short film and it didn’t blow me away.  I was involved and I liked the ending, the abrupt nature of it appealed to me.  I give it 3 stars.

the_bakery_girl_of_monceau_3.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

