Posted by: kfugrip | July 5, 2007

a one and a two…

The title of this post is in honor of Edward Yang, the director of Yi Yi (as well as other films that I haven’t yet seen) who died recently at the age of 59.

This afternoon I watched Happy Together, directed by Wong Kar-Wai. It’s about two men from Hong Kong who live in Buenos Aires and their relationship. There are ups and downs and we get to know them well throughout the course of the film.

The performances were good and the cinematography is stunning. I love Wong Kar-Wai’s style and his sense of the world. He shoots interesting angles and picks moments in people’s lives that echo with all of us.

This film was a bit aimless at times but I was involved and I cared about the characters. The images were so beautiful that it was difficult not to pause the film and stare at the shots and marvel at their beauty… really… I mean it.

4 stars for number sixty-nine

happytogether.jpg

I’m sad to say that I just watched Black Snake Moan, by Craig Brewer. Sad, because it was not a good movie. I guess the movie was supposed to be about spirituality and and the blues… but it appeared to be about nothing to me. I don’t know what the point is. The movie was so pointless that it has effected my ability to review.

I did not see Hustle and Flow, but seeing as how this movie is about music, I think Brewer has a subject that he’s interested in. The best part of this movie is the footage of the blues singer saying “there aint but one kind of blues…”. That’s right a movie where Christina Ricci is nude, and the best thing about it is a quote at the beginning that the director had very little to do with.

The director isn’t talentless. I guess that’s a positive.

I’m giving this 2 stars but I would tell anyone that asked that there is no reason to watch this movie.

blacksnakemoan.jpg

I apologize for the brevity and disjointed nature of these past few reviews. I’m not into it right now. Maybe I’ll do better next time.

Responses

  1. I wasn’t sure whether to go with some snarky comment about Happy Together being number 69 or Christina Ricci nude being reason enough to watch BSM. Either one, I’m sure, will earn me an indignant comment from Kelly 🙂

    I, too, took in a film about two Asian men in love this past week, although this one was set in a prison with a rocket ship and an Aztec pyramid on the outside. Miike strikes again.

  2. Interesting. I just got off a Craig Brewer kick and watched both Hustle & Flow and Black Snake Moan back to back, twice in a row.
    The first time I watched Hustle & Flow, I just “liked” it. The second time, I’m embarrassed to say, I was moved to tears by the characters.
    To be honest, It’s going to get a decent rating from me simply from the Terrence Howard factor. He’s smokin’ hot even when playing a grammatically challenged, overly sweaty pimp.
    I’ve told 4 people today when asked what Black Snake Moan was about, that it was about two very different people (Jackson and Ricci) who help heal each other of their own demons. Oh Yeah, and J.T. was in it…and he was horrible.
    I love the general feel and look of Craig Brewer’s movies. I also like that he writes these scripts that are, to me, intensive character studies.
    The characters are always so real and tragic in their own way. I also appreciate that no matter what awful shit happens during the film, his movies always end on a seemingly positive note. There’s just not enough of that in Hollywood anymore.


Leave a Reply

Categories

