Posted by: kfugrip | September 1, 2009

Production Diary #xi: breaking the seal

Since leaving college all those years ago I have moved to New York City and scratched out a living in film production.  What I have not done is pursue what I want out of life (other than to live in New York City).  That changes this year.  I am shooting a short film this weekend.

The title of the film is “Lorn”.  It will be filmed in and around my hometown in West Virginia.  I (we) will shoot it over Labor Day weekend on the Panasonic AG-HVX200 and edited on Avid Media Composer (as soon as I get it working on my system).  I have a great crew on board and a pittance of my own money to use, so it’ll be fun.

The impetus for Lorn was my inability to get the money to make another short (called “Hunter Orange”) last winter.  Coming into the summer I got a job, a long job wherein I would make some money, so I figured now was the time.

The idea is that I shoot something that fits my aesthetic and leads into my next short and the feature that I’m trying to get made while still being its own entity.  It also needed to be cheap, really cheap.  Without stating a thesis for the film I will say this: it is a simple story about a people that are disappearing from this country.

This blog should get a few Production Diary posts in the near future.

I’m nervous and excited to be back at the helm.  It has been a long time coming and I hope it goes as smoothly as possible.

Wish me luck.

Responses

  1. Take me home, country roads!

    • As you wish.

  2. I think the footage looks really great – I can’t wait to see it all cut together.

  3. Just found this randomly, but good luck. Indie productions are tough.


Leave a Reply

Categories

